Skip to content

Night Lights

November 28, 2010

I am continuing to add to the web site. Yesterday I added some patterns from KnitSpot. Ann Hanson is a very talented designer. I have knit a couple of her designs, her patterns are well written and complete. I added a bunch of sock patterns that look interesting. I am not much of a sock knitter, but there are a couple I would consider knitting, such as the Lighthouse Gansey and the Hayrick. Check them out.

Right now I am knitting a pair of her Spiraluscious mitts and plan to do a pair of the Snow on Cedar Mitts for a Christmas gift.

The other area I am updating is the knitting needles. I am adding bamboo circulars from KA, a Japanese company. The needles are great quality at a very affordable price.

I have not been doing a lot of dying. I did dye 10 skeins of Mary this week to restock. What I really need to do today is mix dye stock as I am low or out of a lot of colors.

Everyday I am amazed and pleased with the results of dying yarn and fiber. Sometimes it does not come out like I expected but is beautiful. And other times I throw it back in the dye pot to change it. Here is a picture of a skein of my lace weight yarn, Ida.

This originally was a bright, almost candy, color combination. I overdyed it with Raven and it made the colors richer. I call it Night Lights. I may end up doing something similar to other skeins of yarn I do not think will sell because of how the colors or color combinations came out. This is a craft and I know I have learned a lot but have much more to learn. I am enjoying it though.

It is cold in New Hampshire. This morning there is ice on the fish pond. The fish have been slowing down for weeks now. I was surprised when I was cutting back the overhanging hostas last month when I discovered a baby had been born during the summer. He was already about 2 inches long so had been hiding for a while. He is now hanging out with the big fish.

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experiences.” Eleanor Roosevelt

Peace

Cynthia

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

