Skip to content

Restocking

November 21, 2010

The fall was busy with fiber festivals and fairs. We again attended the Vermont Sheep and Wool Festival in Tunbridge and had a great time.The weather was better this year (last year Saturday was a complete wash out) and there was a lot of activity around the fairgrounds. The following week was the NH Wool Arts Tour. We again set up at Spring Pond Farm in Greenfield. Two weeks ago we were vendors at the inaugural New England Fiber Festival at the Eastern States Complex in Springfield Mass. It was a huge show for the first year, there were about 200 vendors I think. I had a lot of competition but there was also a lot of variety. The show staff and volunteers did a great job and I look forward to next year.

In total, I did 4 shows this year (I was also at the Knit and Crochet show in Manchester in July) and hope to increase to about 6 next year. The first one of 2011, and I am sooooo excited about this, is the Spa Knit and Spin in Freeport Maine February 25-27. For those that are not familiar with this event, it is an annual gathering (this is the 9th annual) of fiber enthusiasts who spend the weekend knitting, spinning and just hanging around with friends. It is mostly unstructured. There is a “Vendor Mercantile” of 25 vendors from the region. I have attended Spa for one afternoon in the past and I look forward to being immersed in the fun and fiber of the whole weekend.

I will apply for the Massachusetts Sheep and Wool and NH Sheep and Wool again this year (they limit the number of vendors so the waiting list is long). I am also thinking of the Maine Fiber Frolic in June. We’ll see.

The past month has been hectic around here. We had to have a new well drilled and we had some old windows replaced in the upstairs. I am finally getting the house back together and cleaned. I am in the process of doing an inventory of my stock and updating the website. I am also reassessing which yarns to continue to carry and which ones to retire. I would like a variety of weights but not be too overwhelmed trying to keep up with the dying and the stock. Lace has been my biggest seller, I currently carry 3 lace weight yarns and will probably keep it there. I also need to look at each yarn and determine how it will likely be used to better estimate the number of skeins of each color. My capacity is small but some yarns, Hildegard in particular, would be a great yarn for a sweater but up to now I have done one or two skeins of each color, far less than needed for a sweater.

Here is a list of my hand dyed yarns:

Florence – 100% Superfine Alpaca; Lace Weight; 1200 yard and 320 yard skeins

 Mary – 70% Alpaca/ 20 % Silk/ 10% Cashmere; Sport Weight; 400 yard skeins

 Lillian – 80% Baby Alpaca/ 20% Silk; Lace Weight; 1000 yard and 500 yard skeins

 Ida – 70% Baby Alpaca/20% Silk/ 10% Cashmere; Lace Weight; 1300 yard and 330 yard skeins

Virginia – 100% Alpaca; Sport Weight; 375 yard skeins

 Hildegard – 50% Suri Alpaca/ 50% Merino; Sport Weight; 320 yard skeins

Imogene – 70 % Alpaca/ 20% Silk/ 10% Cashmere; Fingering Weight; 437 yard skeins

 Eddie – 50% Superwash Merino/ 50% Silk; Sock Yarn; 437 yard skeins

 Frontier – 70% Merino/ 20% Alpaca/10% Silk; Bulky Weight; 72 yard skeins

100% American Alpaca – Alpacas Raised in the US; Fleece Mill Spun in the US; Yarn Hand Dyed in the US; Worsted Weight; 250 yard skeins

 Ernestine – 80% Superwash Merino/ 20% Nylon; Sock Yarn; 400 yard skeins

 Please visit the site to see the available colors. I also continue to carry Alpaca Yarn Company yarns. And we still have free shipping through the end of the year.

 “For last year’s words belong to last year’s language and next year’s words await another voice. And to make an end is to make a beginning.” T.S. Eliot

Peace, and have a wonderful Thanksgiving day with family and friends.

Cynthia

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

