Skip to content

May 9, 2010

My trip to Italy was great. My sister and I went to Florence to visit her son who is a student and spending this semester there.  We were undeterred by the volcano because we flew direct to Rome from Philadelphia taking a more southern route. We spent one night in Rome then took a train to Florence for the week. The countryside of Italy is beautiful. The wisteria and azaleas were in bloom and everything was green. Here are some pictures:

The Colosseum. Very impressive how the ancient Romans built and used this facility.

Overlooking some of the ancient ruins in Rome.

A hilltop view of Florence. We did a lot of climbing, hills and the 463 steps to the top of the Duomo.

Wine tasting in Greve-Chianti. I shipped David 6 bottles of wine. I am not much of a red wine drinker but did like some of the ones I tasted. The whole wine tasting was automated, you purchased a card that you put into the carousel and pushed the button to taste a wine.

A vineyard. There were acres and acres of these perfectly straight rows of grape vines. I am sure it is more beautiful later in the season.

 The art, of course, was great to see. The statue of David by Michelangelo was much bigger than I thought it would be. As my sister remarked, we saw a lot of male anatomy during our visit!

New updates on the website, including a new homepage. I am now stocking one of The Alpaca Yarn Company’s new yarns, Astral. It is a 50% Tensel, 30% Alpaca and 20% Wool blend. The Firefly Shawl seen in  Interweave Knits is knit from this yarn. It is soft and has a great drape. The colors are fabulous.

It will be up on the website this week.

I also want to announce I will be a vendor at the upcoming Knit and Crochet Show in Manchester, New Hampshire on July 8-10.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

